Catwalks and Kittens

21Jun10

The set of a fashion show isn’t somewhere I’d usually find myself; with my preconceptions of stick-thin models and pretentious fashion ‘critiques’ providing enough reason for me to steer clear. However, last Tuesday I found myself at the Lawrence Batley theatre in Huddersfield filming a fashion show organised by fashion students at the University of Huddersfield.

Firstly, I’ve got to hold my hands up and confess to being so stereotypical. I thought the show was amazing. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not rushing out to buy the Ugly Betty box-set, but the whole production of the show was to be admired. The set, lighting, music (a lot of 70’s disco and funk), professional models, and not least the clothes on show were brilliant, and two packed audiences seemed to agree.

Anyway, back to the point. I was a camera operator for the day, filming alongside three other cameras. I absolutely loved the experience, and found I enjoy filming moving subjects. This isn’t the first fashion show I have filmed. Last September a course-mate and I filmed a fashion show for Breast Cancer, and again I really enjoyed the challenge of producing good pictures with moving subjects, with the pressure of having only one chance.

I also received confirmation of my higher second (2:1) for my final degree mark that day, so once I finished the final show at 10pm, it was off to join my course-mates for the celebrations!

After enjoying filming the fashion show so much, I booked out a camera last Thursday with the intention to take advantage of the good weather up at my girlfriends house in Harrogate. However, we went for a meal instead, so it was a little late to do anything special! So I ended up filming my girlfriends new kitten, and with the footage I shot, I ended up putting together this 52 seconds of craziness the next morning in the edit room. Just a little fun.

http://vimeo.com/22347827



No Responses Yet to “Catwalks and Kittens”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment