Making the most of free time

24Mar10

I won’t lie, playing on the XBox 360 and watching television is my most common way to spend my free time, and although the latter could be deemed as research for my university degree, I think I’d be clutching at straws if I was to say I spend all of my spare time productively.

However, that’s not to say I haven’t been doing anything with my life! University work has been at the forefront of my daily agenda for the past month or so, but with my dissertation handed in last Friday and just a few deadlines remaining in my University tenure, I have found myself with a little more time on my hands.

Camera work has always been an interest of mine, and I’m always desperate to increase my knowledge in terms of camera techniques and editing software. Today, I decided to put my creativity to the fore and try out shooting in HD on the Panasonic AG-HPX171E DVCPRO HD. Some of my course mates couldn’t quite comprehend why I was filming in my spare time, but I genuinely do enjoy it! I filmed it this morning, then after a game of 5-a-side football with my friends, I edited the piece in the afternoon.

So here is the video, unfortunately YouTube felt the urge to prevent it uploading in 720p, even though it was shot in 1080p! So you’ll have to settle for 480p, but it still looks fairly high quality to say it’s been compressed and uploaded to a website. Hope you enjoy!


Shooting in HD



No Responses Yet to “Making the most of free time”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment