A new chapter- From television student to…

18Apr10

Friday marked the final hand-in date for my university work, and with the exception of a two-hour exam in May, my time at university as a whole. The day was greeted with mixed emotions; relief, joy, pride, but somewhat unexpectedly, a sense of nervousness.

For the past three years, the plan has been simple. Graduate. This isn’t to say that I haven’t been thinking about what to do after university, in fact, far from it. My course at the University of Huddersfield, Television Production & Media, carries a strong vocational element to its structure which aims to give me the best possible chance of gaining employment in the television industry as soon as possible. However, the last three months have been hectic, with my dissertation and practical project, along with my other modules, taking up the majority of my week. Unfortunately, this has distracted me from planning ahead, building contacts and gaining more work experience; hopefully, this hasn’t hindered my chances of gaining employment come July.

Upon completing my work, I’ve also had a lot to think about; aim to find employment as soon as possible? Realise that I am still only 20, and should take advantage of this freedom by travelling around Europe before the constraints of work limit my free time? I admit, it’s an enviable situation for most people to find themselves in, but making the wrong decision could be a huge regret for some time.

On a brighter note, the practical project that I have completed, a promotional DVD for Huddersfield Town’s youth academy, turned out great, and I’m really pleased with the end result. Unfortunately, I can’t upload the video to the internet, as it would breach contractual agreements made with the club. However, I think the DVD definitely sells the academy well, and will hopefully bring in more prospective youngsters to the set up they have down at the Leeds Road playing Complex. I thoroughly enjoyed working on this project, which as a whole only served to reiterate my desire to succeed in the industry, as it is something I would love to be able to do every day of the week.



No Responses Yet to “A new chapter- From television student to…”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment